Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Ukraine.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Ukraine's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Ukraine's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Ukraine is a lower middle incomed country in Eastern Europe, sharing boarders with Russia, Belarus, Poland, Slovakia, Hungry, Romania and Moldova. The country also has a coastline along the Sea of Azov and the Black Sea. Ukraine has a total land area of more than 600,000 km2, with a largely flat topography except for the Crimean Mountains in the south and Carpathian Mountains in the West. The country is dominated by the Dnieper River which stretches north to south through the center of the country for over 2,200 km. Ukraine has an extensive network of rivers, more than 73 thousand, most of which are transboundary. Ukraine has a population of 44.8 million people (2017), but has experienced negative population growth since 2000Its GDP was $112.1 billion (2017), growing at a rate of 2.5% in 2017. The country’s growth rate dropped sharply in 2014 (-6.6%) and 2015 (-9.8%) during the invasion and temporary annexation of Crimea in 2014-2015. The economy is dominated by industry (including mining, construction, electricity, water and gas) and agriculture.

The western and north-western parts of Ukraine experience a mild climate with excessive moisture and moderate temperature conditions, while eastern and south-eastern areas experience a relative shortage of rainfall and increased temperatures. Ukraine is highly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change and has identified agriculture, water resources, energy, transportation, health, the urban environment and forests, and coastal zone management as key adaptation priorities. Ukraine submitted its Sixth National Communication to the UNFCCC in 2012 and focus remains on the country’s capacity to monitor its GHG emissions, continue the implementation of key efficiency gains in reducing emissions and develop a more resilient population and economy.