Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Uruguay.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Uruguay's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Uruguay's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Uruguay is located in the temperate zone of South America, between latitudes 30° and 35° S and longitudes 53° and 58° W. The country is separated from Argentina by the Uruguay River to the west, and shares borders with Brazil in the north and northeast. The southern coasts stretch along the Rio de la Plata (west) and the Atlantic Ocean (east). The continental territory covers 176,215 km2 of which 144,500 km2 are agricultural land. Uruguay’s GDP (PPP adjusted) is estimated at USD 78.15 billion (2017) with services contributing 68.8%, industry 6.2% and agriculture 6.2%. GDP per capita (PPP) is estimated at USD 22,400 (CIA Factbook). The country's total population is 3,380,177 inhabitants, and approximately 70% of the population lives in coastal areas.

Uruguay's vulnerability to climate change is high, particularly in terms of coastal zones, both because of the higher certainty of sea level rise and the high exposure of critical economic and natural resources on the coastline. On the other hand, many other sectors dependent on natural resources including forestry, agriculture and livestock offer considerable potential for mitigating climate change through carbon sequestration (OECD). Natural resource management therefore is a critical link in Uruguay’s efforts to both adapt to and help mitigate climate change. Uruguay ratified the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) on 1994. Since then, it has submitted four National Communications to the UNFCCC and its Nationally Determined Contribution.