Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Sweden.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Sweden's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Sweden's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Sweden extends from latitudes 55° N - 69° N and longitudes 11° E - 23°E, with a land area of 408,150 km2. Urban land makes up 3% of the land area, while productive forest land account for 58%, farmland 8%, wetlands 13%, mires, rock surface, subalpine woodlands and high mountains 17%, and other land 2%. Inland water systems total more than 40,000 km2, or more than 9% of the total area. In the past 50 years, farmland has successively given way to other land uses, mainly forest land. This has resulted in reduced emissions from agriculture and increased carbon sequestration in forest biomass. Sweden’s population is approximately 10.4 million (2020). Sweden’s economy is supported by its services, manufacturing, construction, and industry sectors that have resulted in a strongly export-oriented economy in Sweden.