St. Kitts and Nevis

Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting St. Kitts and Nevis.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for St. Kitts and Nevis's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of St. Kitts and Nevis's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The islands of St. Kitts and Nevis are located in the northern part of the Lesser Antilles. The topography of the islands consists of a mixture of lowlands, which are used for development or farming, and slopes, which are mainly associated with volcanic mountain ranges. The coastal and marine waters of St. Kitts and Nevis host a range of ecosystems including coral reefs, freshwater lagoons, seagrass beds and mangroves. Major economic sectors in the country include banking and insurance, wholesale and retail trade, construction, and manufacturing, with agriculture playing a less significant role. The country’s total population is 53,192 (2020) people, of which over 60% of the population resides in coastal areas with coastal tourism acting as main sector of economy for many. This makes the country significantly vulnerable to sea level rise and the threats of accelerated coastal erosion and flooding. These threats are exacerbated by human-induced deforestation and steep slopes throughout the country.