Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Serbia's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Serbia's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

The Republic of Serbia is located in the central part of the Balkan Peninsula, covering a total surface area of 88,361 km2. The State borders Hungary to the north, Romania and Bulgaria to the east, Republic of North Macedonia to the south, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro to the west. Serbia has three major geographical areas: the Pannonian Plain; hilly areas with lower mountains; and low-lands and mountainous area. Serbia’s population is approximately 6.9 million (2020) inhabitants. Serbia’s economy is supported by its energy, industrial, and agriculture sectors, with agriculture at high risk of impacts from climate change. Serbia has experienced two most prominent events: drought in 2012 and floods in 2014, causing significant material and financial damage.