Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Benin.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Benin's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Benin's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Benin is situated in West Africa along the Guinea Coast. The country of Benin is primarily flat with the exception of the Atacora Mountains. Two major river basins, the Niger and coastal basin, enrich the country with ample waterways. Nearly 70% of the workforce in Benin earns a living through the agricultural sector, accounting for 32% of gross domestic product (GDP). Benin’s economy remains largely undiversified and extremely vulnerable to external shocks and changes in trade policies. Poverty levels are high, with 35% of the population living below subsistence levels. Key development challenges include agricultural diversification, improved agricultural productivity, economic diversification, and improving basic access to services, most notably in the areas of public health, education, and sanitation. Widespread environmental degradation continues steadily, in part due to rapid population growth and unsustainable use of natural resources. Climate change is expected to exacerbate existing development challenges, especially in the agricultural and health sectors.

Management of climate change issues in Benin is coordinated by the National Committee on Climate Change. The Ministry of the Environment is responsible for Climate Change Management, Reforestation and the Protection of Natural Resources and Forestry, which involves a group of national experts from the national Committee on Climate Change and representatives of national sectoral ministries. Benin ratified the Paris Agreement on October 31, 2016 and the associated Nationally Determined Contribution in 2018.