Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Guinea-Bissau.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Guinea-Bissau's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Guinea-Bissau's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Guinea-Bissau is located in West Africa and lies along the Atlantic Ocean between the latitudes of 10°59’-12°20’N and 13°38’-16°43’W. It is one of the world’s poorest and most fragile countries, has a population of about 1.8 million. Guinea-Bissau’s Atlantic Ocean coast is composed of an archipelago, the Bijagos, of more than 100 islands.Guinea-Bissau is endowed with rich ecosystems that help the primary sector dominate its economy and is the main source of employment. Economic growth reached 5.9% in 2017, largely reflecting high international cashew prices and good cashew production. However, economic activity has slowed down in 2018 due mainly to lower cashew production, caused by adverse weather, and declining cashew prices. 

The country developed its Second National Communication under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and has a National Adaptation Plan of Action that has listed priority adaptation strategies such as an emergency strategy for supplying seeds and pesticides to compensate for food shortages, capacity building for farmers and their organizations, improved water management, sustainable development of agriculture, improved management of other natural resources, agricultural enterprise development, prevention and management of food crises and other natural disasters (e.g. early warning systems), and institutional reinforcement.