Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Iraq's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Iraq's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

The Republic of Iraq is a country in southwestern Asia and is topographically divided into four regions: the great Mesopotamian alluvial plains of the Tigris; the Euphrates Rivers; the mountains in the north and east; and the desert in the south and west. Over 40% of the country is desert and is sparsely populated due to harsh weather conditions. In many parts of the country, good quality water is sparse due to salinity. Desertification and water scarcity due to river flow fluctuations render Iraq vulnerable to the adverse effects of climate change. Iraq's population is nearly 40 million as of 2020. Iraq’s economy is mainly driven by its oil and gas sector, followed by the agriculture sector. 

Impacts from the climate change, such as increases in temperatures and decreases in rain, are expected to effect Iraq’s water resources, the agriculture sector, its biodiversity, and the health sector.