Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Brazil.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Brazil's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Brazil's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Brazil is the largest country in South America and the fifth largest in the world. A significant portion of the country’s population live in poverty. The country’s population has grown tremendously with an almost four-fold increase since 1950. Brazil’s economy is ranked eighth in the world, and is the largest economy in Latin America. The country is among the largest and most efficient producers of various manufactured products, including cement, aluminum, chemicals, petrochemical, feedstock, and oil. Important economic sectors in Brazil include manufacturing, mining, commercial agriculture, forestry and tourism. Due to its geographical extent and varied topography, Brazil has a diverse climate ranging from equatorial in the north to temperate in the south. Brazil also has great biodiversity associated with its diverse ecosystems, with the Amazon rainforest hosting the maximum range of biodiversity on Earth. The rainforest is particularly threatened by the impacts of climate change.

The National Policy on Climate Change, put in place in 2009, aimed at the reconciliation of social and economic development and provides for implementation of measures to promote adaptation to climate change in Brazil. All policies, measures and actions to implement Brazil’s Intended Nationally Determined Contribution are carried out under the National Policy on Climate Change, the Law on the Protection of Native Forests, the Law on the National System of Conservation Units and related legislation. The Ministry of Environment is responsible for developing, implementing, monitoring and evaluating the Climate Plan. Brazil ratified the Paris Agreement on September 21, 2016.