Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Comoros's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Comoros's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.


The Union of Comoros is a small archipelago in the southwestern Indian Ocean nestled between the coast of East Africa and Madagascar in the Mozambique Channel. Comoros is composed of three islands: Grande Comore, Mohéli, and Anjouan, and is made up of diverse coastal and marine environments from low coasts to cliffs, mountains, and an active volcano. Agriculture, including fishing, hunting, and forestry, accounts for about 50% of GDP, employs a majority of the labor force, and provides most of the exports. Export income is heavily reliant on the three main crops of vanilla, cloves, and ylang ylang (perfume essence); and the Comoros' export earnings are easily disrupted by disasters such as fires and extreme weather. Poverty is widespread throughout the Comoros, with 40% of the population living below the poverty line.

The Comoros is densely populated, with approximately 465 inhabitants per km2, and more than half of the population (53%) of 869,595 (2020) people is under the age of 20. High population density places intense pressure on natural resources and the environment. Due to its location and topography Comoros is among the most climate vulnerable countries in the world, and 54.2% of the population live in at-risk areas.