Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Cameroon.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Cameroon's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Cameroon's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Cameroon is situated on the western central coast of Africa along the Gulf of Guinea, extending north to Lake Chad. Cameroon’s geography is quite diverse with low-lying coastal plains rising inland to high plateaus, and mountain ranges stretching along its northwestern border with Nigeria. This variety affords Cameroon with three main climatic regions: southern equatorial forests, central grasslands, and the northern semi-arid, Sahelian region. It boasts an array of natural resources: oil, gas, high value timber species, minerals, and agricultural products (e.g. coffee, cotton, cocoa, maize, and cassava). 70% of Cameroon’s inhabitants are employed by agricultural and pastoral activities. Around 40% of Cameroonians are in poverty with chronic poverty encapsulating 26% of the population. Compared to other nations in this region of Africa with similar economic characteristics, these percentages are high. 

In June 2015, Cameroon validated a National Adaptation Plan for Climate Change (PNACC) which includes, among other things, an assessment of climate change in each of the five agro-ecological zones, an assessment of the sensitivity, vulnerability and sectoral and geographic resilience, a 2016-2025 intervention strategy, an assessment of losses, risks and shortcomings, a five-year action plan for 2016-2020 broken down into 20 detailed project files. Cameroon ratified the Paris Agreement on July 29, 2016 and the associated Intended Nationally Determined Contribution can be found here