Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Bolivia.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Bolivia's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Bolivia's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Plurinational State of Bolivia, formerly known as the Republic of Bolivia, is a landlocked country located in central South America between the Andes and the Amazon. Due to remarkable elevation changes throughout the country, Bolivia has a varied topography and a wide range in climate. Lake Titicaca, South America’s largest lake, is also situated in Bolivia and is famous as one of the highest commercially navigable lakes in the world. Bolivia also has more than 14,000 kilometers of navigable rivers. The country is highly dependent on the exploitation of natural resources, such as agriculture, mining and hydrocarbons, which account for more than 40% of economic activity and almost 80% of exports. Agriculture, forestry and fishing employ nearly 44% of Bolivia’s workers. In the highlands region, the dominant economic activity for most of the agricultural workers is subsistence farming. 

The government of Bolivia believes the planet is an entity with inherent rights to be protected by states. The legislature has adopted the same ideology and passed the Rights of Mother Earth Law in 2010 and The Mother Earth Law and Integral Development to Live Well Law in 2012. Under The Mother Earth Law, a government authority is established to oversee the implementation of climate change mitigation and adaptation principles, called the Plurinational Authority of Mother Earth and operating within the Ministry of Environment and Water, which also includes a Sub-Secretary of Climate Change. Bolivia ratified the Paris Agreement on October 5, 2016 and the associated Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC)  in 2017.