Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Tajikistan.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Tajikistan's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Tajikistan's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Republic of Tajikistan is a landlocked country lying between latitudes 36°40'N to 41°05'N and longitudes 67°31'E to 75°14'E with an area of 143,000 kilometers square (km2). Tajikistan shares borders with Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan in the north and west, China to the east, and Afghanistan to the south. Mountains occupy about 93% of the terrain, with altitudes ranging from 300 meters (m) to 7,000 m. Nearly 50% of Tajikistan's territory is at least 3,000 m above sea-level, with approximately 1,300 lakes, and the two principal rivers of Central Asia, the Amu Darya and the Syr Darya, both flow through the country. Glaciers, snowmelt and permafrost are important sources of water recharging the Aral Sea river basin. Geographically, Tajikistan is divided into four zones: Northern Tajikistan, Southern Tajikistan, Central Tajikistan, and the Pamirs. The western part of the country is occupied by foothills and steppes; lowland areas are found along river valleys in southwestern Tajikistan. The Pamir mountains in the east are sparsely populated, with extremely cold winters, considerable snow cover, and short summers. Tajikistan’s population and agricultural activities are concentrated in the valleys and in the western part of the country. The country has significant natural resources such as water, coal, mercury, gold, silver, salt, limestone, marble, and clay.