Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Cote d'Ivoire's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Cote d'Ivoire's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Côte d’Ivoire is located in West Africa along the Gulf of Guinea. Forest covers the southern portion of the country while savannah dominates in the north, and the country boasts 4 large rivers. High rainfall in the south supports an abundance of agriculture, namely cocoa, cashews, and coffee. Côte d’Ivoire is heavily dependent on agriculture and related activities, which engage roughly two-thirds of the total population of over 26 million (2020). Côte d’Ivoire is the world's largest producer and exporter of cocoa beans and a significant producer and exporter of coffee and palm oil. Consequently, the economy is highly sensitive to fluctuations in international prices for these products and to climatic conditions. The country nonetheless remains Francophone West Africa’s economic hub and exerts significant influence in the region. A heavy economic reliance on agriculture, in addition to continued environmental degradation and deforestation all contribute to the country’s vulnerability to climate change.