Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Guatemala.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Guatemala's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Guatemala's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Republic of Guatemala lies in the heart of Central America. Much of the country is mountainous and dominated by a string of volcanic ranges. Guatemala is the largest economy in Central America, one of the most densely populated and one of the poorest countries in the region. More than half of Guatemala’s population lives in rural areas, and of that, 70 percent live in poverty. As a result of widespread deforestation and land degradation, slash-and-burn subsistence agriculture and overexploitation of water resources, Guatemalans rely on degraded natural resources and lands with low productivity, leading to increased food insecurity and vulnerability. Vulnerability is further increased by urbanization and rapid population growth, highly vulnerable physical structures, limited access to suitable water and health services, and low capacity to manage natural disaster risks.

The Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources (MARN) is the lead agency on climate change. A National Climate Change Program, started in 2008, helps implement measures agreed under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change. The National Climate Change Policy (2009) lays out a political and legal basis for action and a framework Climate Change Law, adopted in 2013, recently created the National Climate Change Council, a collegial advisory body. The Council consists of public and private representatives and is overseen by the President. Guatemala ratified the Paris Agreement on January 25, 2017, and the associated Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) can be found here in Spanish.