Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Kenya.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Kenya's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Kenya's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Republic of Kenya is located across the equator in east Africa. Its tropical climate is moderated by its topography, which rises from coastal plains to the eastern edge of the East African Plateau and the Great Rift Valley. Kenya’s climate varies from tropical along the coast to arid in the interior. The major rivers in Kenya are the Tana and Athi that flow southeast to the Indian Ocean. Approximately 31 million Kenyans live in rural areas where the growth rate is about 2.2%, while the urban population is about 8 million, with a growth rate of about 4%. The Kenyan economy is market-based, with some state-owned infrastructure enterprises, and is highly dependent on rainfed agriculture and tourism. The agriculture sector employs about 75% of the country's population.

Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources is the key coordinating body to formulate climate and environmental  policies in Kenya. Kenya has developed a National Climate Change Response Strategy (NCCRS 2010), National Climate Change Action Plan (NCCAP 2013) and a National Adaptation Plan (NAP) is under preparation, while a National Climate Change Framework Policy and legislation are in their final stages of enactment to facilitate effective response to climate change. Kenya ratified the Paris Agreement on December 28, 2016, and the associated Intended Nationally Determined Contribution can be found here.