South Sudan

Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting South Sudan.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for South Sudan's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of South Sudan's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Republic of South Sudan is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. Approximately 80% of the population lives in rural areas and works in agriculture. South Sudan has large oil revenues, with nearly 98% of the country’s budget revenues from oil. South Sudan’s industrial sector and socio-economic infrastructure is still underdeveloped. The country largely depends on imported goods, services and capital from Sudan. Poverty rates are very high and subsistence agriculture remains the main source of income for the vast majority of the population. South Sudan has one of the richest agricultural areas in Africa; located in the White Nile valley, the region is very fertile, with sufficient water supplies. South Sudan faces a number of natural hazard risks, including floods and drought. Climate variability is likely to negatively impact agriculture, while projected increases in rainfall intensity may increase the risk of floods and the spread of waterborne diseases.

The Ministry of Environment is the central agency for climate change related policies and has formulated the Environment Policy Framework and Environmental Bill that will regulate the exploitation of natural resources in the country. Both the policy and the bill are yet to be operationalized. South Sudan has yet to ratify the Paris Agreement as of March 2019, but the country's Intended Nationally Determined Contribution can be found here.