Sao Tome and Principe

Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Sao Tome and Principe.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Sao Tome and Principe's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Sao Tome and Principe's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe is located off the west coast of Africa in the Gulf of Guinea about 300 kilometers off the African coast. The country is an island archipelago of volcanic origin that consists of two islands, São Tomé and Príncipe, and four islets, that are rich in forest and water resources. São Tomé and Príncipe is a lower middle income, developing, small island state. It has an estimated population of 219,161 (2020) people. The country’s economy is based on the agricultural and tourism sectors. The country is highly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change, especially sea level rise which can increase the risk of flooding.