Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Austria.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Austria's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Austria's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Austria is a land-locked country located in southern central Europe, between 49°01' and 46°22' N and from 9°32' to 17°10' E, covering part of the eastern Alps and the Danube region. Austria’s total surface area covers 83,858 km2 with a share of 37.5% settlement area. Austria’s GDP reached $428.9 billion and its per capita GDP reached $48,105 in 2020. Austrian exports contribute approximately 52% to GDP (2020). Austria’s total permanent population reached 8.9 million inhabitants in 2020 and nearly one third of all Austrians (2.6 million) live within the metropolitan area of Vienna. Austria is expected to be very vulnerable to climatic change given that its ecosystems in mountainous regions are highly sensitive and approximately 70% of Austria’s surface is situated higher than 500 m above sea level.

Austria can be divided into three climatic zones: the eastern part shows a continental Pannonian climate (mean July temperature >19°C, annual rainfall < 800 mm), while the central Alpine region has the characteristic features of the Alpine Climate (high precipitation, short summers, long winters). The remaining part of the country belongs to the transitional central European climatic zone, which is characterized by a wet and temperate climate (mean July temperature 14–19°C, annual precipitation of 700–2000 mm). Austria submitted its Updated Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) to the UNFCCC as an EU Member State in 2020, and its Seventh National Communication in 2018.