Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Cyprus's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Cyprus's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.


Cyprus is an island country, located in the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea, and the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea, after the Italian islands of Sicily and Sardinia (both in terms of area and population). The total area of the island is 9,251 km2. It measures 240 km long and 100 km wide at its widest point. It lies between latitudes 34° and 36° N, and longitudes 32° and 35° E. The population of Cyprus is estimated at over 1.2 million (2020). The country’s economy is mostly supported by its services sector, followed by the manufacturing and agriculture sectors.

Cyprus lies at the south-eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea and Europe, which is one of the most sensitive hot spots and most vulnerable regions in the world regarding climate change. This makes the country highly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change from significant increase in temperature resulting in increase in the frequency and intensity of droughts and hot weather conditions.