Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Senegal.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Senegal's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Senegal's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Senegal borders the Atlantic Ocean on the westernmost point of the African continent. Two distinct seasons characterize Senegal’s climate: a dry season from roughly October to May and a rainy season from June to September. While Senegal has enjoyed a strong economic performance and a steady growth over recent years, the population’s living standards are still very low. Poverty in Senegal is most prevalent in rural areas, where roughly 60% of the population resides. The other 40% are found in urban areas, where the majority live in rapidly growing urban suburbs. Low agricultural production, limited capacity of the economy to create sustainable jobs, and inadequate resource allocation for social services contribute to poverty. Senegal is vulnerable to drought, locust invasion, flooding and related health epidemics, sea-level rise, coastal erosion and its corollaries, and bush fire. 

The Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development is the central body for climate change policies in Senegal. However, the National Committee on Climate Change, which consists of a representatives from every ministry and the President’s office, is also an important body involved in the process. The country has not published a comprehensive climate change strategy but developed the National Adaptation Programmes of Action in 2006 and submitted a detailed Nationally Determined Contribution in 2015 providing projects and plans for mitigation and adaptation. Senegal ratified the Paris Agreement on September 21, 2016.