Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Suriname's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Suriname's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Suriname is located on the Northeastern coast of South America. The majority of the country’s land is in the Guyana highlands, which cover 85% of the country. The terrain consists of mostly rolling hills and a narrow coastal plain with swamps. The country’s population is approximately 586,634 (2020) people, of which 90% of the Surinamese population lives in low-lying coastal areas. The economy of Suriname is heavily reliant on the services and extractive industries. Agriculture and forestry sectors are also considered as the country’s commercial importance. Suriname is particularly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change. The country’s small population, major economic activities, and infrastructure are concentrated along the low-lying, heavily urbanized coastal zone. The country is particularly prone to major threats posed by flooding, drought, and high winds during extreme weather events.