Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Vanuatu.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Vanuatu's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Vanuatu's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The archipelago nation of Vanuatu is located in the Melanesian region of the South Pacific Ocean. Eighty islands and an exclusive economic zone comprise the country. The largest of the islands, Espiritu Santo and Malekula, cover 50% of the country’s land mass and harbor the majority of Vanuatu’s population. The country’s economy is primarily based on small-scale agriculture, which provides a livelihood for two thirds of the population, while fishing, offshore financial services and tourism encompass the rest of the economic base. Vanuatu is considered one of the poorest of the Pacific and has been classified a Least Developed Country. The isolated location, small land area separated by vast oceans, and the attendant challenges and costs of providing basic services make Vanuatu, like all Small Island Developing States (SIDS), extremely vulnerable to the adverse impacts of climate change. The country’s ability to respond to these changes is hampered by its highly vulnerable socio-economic and ecological situation. 

The National Advisory Committee on climate change is the central point of all domestic and international climate policy in Vanuatu. The country has developed mitigation targets via the National Energy Road Map, and the Second National Communication to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change. Vanuatu has also participated in the Scaling Up Renewable Energy in Low Income Countries report, and the Vanuatu Renewables Readiness Assessment, prepared by the International Renewable Energy Agency. Vanuatu ratified the Paris Agreement on September 21, 2016 and their associated Nationally Determined Contribution can be found here