United Kingdom

Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting United Kingdom.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for United Kingdom's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of United Kingdom's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The United Kingdom lies between latitude 49º and 61ºN and longitude 8º and 2ºW in the north western part of Europe. The total population of the UK was estimated to be 65.6 million in mid-2016, with over 83% living in urban areas. The UK economy is dominated by the service sector (79% of GDP), which has been the driver of growth in recent years. In 2015, the UK had a GDP of $2.9 trillion. The UK’s economic performance in the latter half of 2016 following the EU referendum was robust, consumers remained resilient, and investment was largely unaffected. Over 2016 as a whole the UK economy grew by 1.8%, the 2nd fastest growth in the G7. During the first quarter of 2017 there was a slowdown in economic activity, as the Pound’s depreciation and rising inflation weighed on consumer expenditure. The UK’s climate is maritime, moist and temperate, with a moderate annual temperature range. Average annual precipitation in the UK typically ranges from approximately 800 mm to 1,400 mm. The UK climate is heavily influenced by its proximity to the Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf Stream/North Atlantic Drift which brings warm water into high northern latitudes (Seventh National Communication, 2017). The UK submitted its Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) as an EU Member State in 2015.