Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Cuba.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Cuba's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Cuba's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Cuban archipelago consists of the island of Cuba, the Isle of Youth and more than 1,600 islands, islets and cays, which together represent a surface area of 110,922 km2. In 2013, the Cuban population reached 11,210,064 inhabitants, of which 76.8% lived in urban areas. Most of the territory of Cuba has a tropical climate with a rainy season in summer. Cuba’s water sector is very vulnerable to climate variability, with rainwater its only water resource. Between 1960 and 2000, the country experienced a decline in precipitation of 10 to per cent. Coastal floods and sea water inundations are also leading to saline intrusion of the country’s groundwater aquifers. The country’s agriculture sector is also vulnerable to reduced water availability, droughts, and extreme weather events such as hurricanes. These current concerns may become more acute as in the future as the climate changes and temperatures rise. Warmer temperatures associated with climate change may also affect the health of Cuba’s population, including a possible increase in cardiovascular and respiratory diseases, and a rise in dengue fever, diarrhea, chicken pox and other viral illnesses. Cuba has submitted its Second National Communications in 2015 and Nationally Determined Contributions (NDC) in 2016.