Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Korea, Dem. People's Rep.'s climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Korea, Dem. People's Rep.'s country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

DPR Korea is situated in the east of the Asian continent. DPR Korea is bounded on the north by China and Russia at intervals of Amnok River and Tuman River, on the east by Japan at intervals of the Korean East Sea and on the west by China at intervals of the Korean West Sea. DPR Korea encompasses approximately 123,138kmof land. The population of DPR Korea was over 25 million as of 2020. DPR’s economy is supported mainly by its industrial sector. 

The country’s water resources are vulnerable to the impacts of climate change with expected shortage of water in urban regions and main agricultural areas. Increase in the risk of flooding and drought and flood-frequency are also considered to be a significant threat.