Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for United Arab Emirates's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of United Arab Emirates's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is located on the Arabian Peninsula between latitudes 22.0° and 26.5° N and longitudes between 51.0° and 56.5° E. The UAE has a total land area of 83,600 km2 and 1,318 km of coastline that extends along the southeastern part of the Persian Gulf, also known as Arabian Gulf, to the western shores of Gulf of Oman. The UAE’s population is approximately 9.9 million (2020) people, of which over 85% are immigrants. The country’s economy is supported by its crude oil production and construction sectors, in addition to trade and real estate services. 

The UAE is vulnerable to the impacts of climate change from rising sea levels, which could affect the UAE’s critical infrastructures, such as desalination and power stations, as well as habitats located on coastal zones facing the Persian Gulf, or the Gulf of Oman. Climate change is also expected to affect various aspects of the agriculture sector in the UAE, such as impacts from changes in climatic conditions, such as temperature and precipitation.