Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Faroe Islands's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Faroe Islands's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

The Faroe Islands consist of 18 small, mountainous islands situated in the North Atlantic at about 62°N and 7°W. The islands have a total land area of 1,399 km2 and a population over 48,000 (2020). The Faroe Islands is a modern, developed society with a standard of living comparable to other Nordic countries. However, the economy is not yet as diversified. Fishery and related industries are of such importance that their influence determines the overall performance of the Faroese economy. An economy with high dependence on fish products and exporting them is bound to be vulnerable to the changes in catches, fish prices, and exchange rates.