Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Qatar.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Qatar's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Qatar's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Qatar is located in Western Asia, on the northeastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula. 97% of the population lives in cities, making Qatar one of the most urbanized countries in the world. High economic growth rates saw the total population triple from 422,000 in 1990 to 1.5 million in 2009. Qatar’s economy is dominated by the oil and gas sector, which contributes about 60% to gross domestic product. However, unstable oil prices and resource depletion make economic diversification important. Limited agricultural production is due to scarce water resources, low water quality and quantity, poor soils and harsh climatic conditions. Due to these circumstances, Qatar imports the bulk of its food. As most water needs are met through desalination processes, meeting increasing needs due to population growth is also likely to increase energy needs for such processes, thus posing serious challenges to sustainable economic development.

The Ministry of the Environment (MoE) is the national focal point for climate change in Qatar. MoE is supported in its function by a national policy formulating body, the “National Committee on Climate Change”. The country has also put forward a Qatar National Vision 2030 that contains four pillars: Human, Social, Economic and Environmental development. It is through the fourth pillar that the government seeks to preserve and protect its unique environment. It strikes a balance between development needs and environmental protection, and supports international efforts to mitigate the effects of climate change, for both mitigation and adaptation. Qatar ratified the Paris Agreement on June 23, 2017 and the associated Intended Nationally Determined Contribution can be found here.