Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Seychelles's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Seychelles's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

The Republic of Seychelles lies northeast of Madagascar, an archipelago of 115 islands with almost 98,000 citizens (2020), three-quarters of whom live on the main island of Mahé. Seychelles has the highest Gross Domestic Products (GDPs) per capita in Africa at $12.3 billion (2020). Seychelles is highly dependent on tourism, and climate change poses long-term sustainability risks. Climate change adaptation, including through strengthened disaster preparedness systems and enhanced coastal management, is key to its development.