Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Croatia's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Croatia's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

The Republic of Croatia belongs to the Adriatic-Mediterranean and Pannonia-Danube group of countries in Central Europe. The total area of Croatia is 87,661 kilometers square (km2), with a land area of 56,594 km2; territorial sea and internal sea waters account for 31,067 km2. Croatia’s seacoast extends 6,278 km (29.9% of inland, 70.1% of islands). The state sea border is 948 km long and extends to an outer boundary of territorial sea. The Croatian Parliament has declared an Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) in the Adriatic Sea on February 5, 2021. This EEZ is 23,870 km2 and reaches an epicontinental border between the Republic of Croatian and Italy. Croatia shares land borders with Slovenia, Hungary, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Serbia. The country has a population of nearly 4.05 million people (2020). Croatia’s population is projected to reach 3.8 million and 3.3 million people in 2030 and 2050, respectively. The urban population is expected to grow from 61.5% in 2030 to 71.3% in 2050. The Croatian economy is dominated by the services sector (which includes, retail trade, transport, and government, financial, professional, and personal services such as education, health care, and real estate services), which accounts for 59% of GDP. Industry (including mining, manufacturing, construction, electricity, water, and gas) accounts for 26.3% of GDP and the agricultural sector, accounts for 3% of the country’s GDP. Croatia submitted its Seventh National Communication (NC7) and Third Biennial Report of The Republic of Croatia Under the UNFCCC in 2018. Croatia participated in the Updated Nationally Determined Contributions (NDC) submitted to the UNFCCC as an EU Member State in 2020. The country’s adaptation priorities include availability and accessibility of water for drinking and irrigation uses, coast and coastal zones, forestry and land use change, agriculture, biodiversity, and human health.