Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Burundi.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Burundi's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Burundi's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Republic of Burundi is a landlocked country located in Central Africa just south of the equator. Two hydrological basins run through the country: the Nile Basin and the Congo Basin. Yet, water is a vulnerable resource due to multiple factors, including climatic conditions and unequal space-time distribution of rainfall. Agriculture is the mainstay of the economy with 90% of the population depending on it for their livelihood. This sector, combined with animal husbandry, contributes about 40-60% of the gross domestic product, with exports mainly from coffee, tea, and cotton constituting 70-85% of export revenues. Burundi has the second highest population density in sub-Saharan Africa and years of civil war have severely damaged its economic structure and contributed to widespread poverty, with many lacking access to modern health services, potable water, and electricity. 

The Ministry of Water, the Environment, Land Management and Urban Planning, along with l’Institut Géographique du Burundi (IGEBU) and Office Burundais pour la Protection de l'Environnement (OBPE), develop and implement matters related to climate change. The Ministry enjoys support from the National Environment Commission, the Sectoral Group on Water, Sanitation and the Environment, the National Water Partnership and the National Platform for Risk Prevention and Disaster Management. Burundi ratified the Paris Agreement on January 17, 2018 and the associated Nationally Determined Contribution.