Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Andorra.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Andorra's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Andorra's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The landlocked Principality of Andorra is one of the smallest states in Europe. The country has an area of 468 km2 and a population of 77,142. Andorra has a per capita income above the European average and above its neighbors, Spain and France. Tourism, retail sales, and finance comprise more than three-quarters of GDP. Duty-free shopping and resorts attract millions of visitors annually. Agricultural production is limited given that only 5% of land is arable. The agriculture and forestry sector represent 0.6% of GDP. Andorra is a mountainous country, and therefore it is particularly sensitive to climate change.