Climate Change Overview

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Algeria's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Algeria's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

The People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria is located in northwestern Africa and is now the largest country in Africa since the independence of Southern Sudan in 2011. The majority of the country is comprised of desert, with extensive mountains to the east (the Ahaggar mountains). Over 34% of the population lives in rural areas, and is heavily concentrated in the fertile natural resource rich coastal area. Unemployment coupled with rising food prices are some of the greatest challenges Algeria faces today. The country’s economy is highly dependent on the energy sector, with fuel exports comprising over 98% of total exports and making up the bulk of its foreign exchange. Reducing economic and spatial disparities and generating employment are high on the government’s list of priorities; this, however, is highly dependent on the stability of hydrocarbon prices, access and quality of basic services, and development of the country’s infrastructure.

The National Climate Committee headed by the Minister of Environment is responsible for coordinating, monitoring and assessing national policies and programs on climate change in Algeria. The National Climate Change Agency will be the body responsible for the implementation of the country's Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC). Algeria is also developing a national climate change adaptation plan. Meanwhile, the NDC is regarded as the National Climate Plan with the targets and actions to be achieved by 2030. Algeria ratified the Paris Agreement on October 20, 2016.