Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Angola.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Angola's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Angola's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

Angola, the second largest country on the African Continent with a population of over 32.8 million people (2020), is located on the western coast of Africa in the Southern Hemisphere. The oil sector comprises the largest economic sector, accounting for more than one-third of the gross domestic product (GDP) and over 90% of exports (2020). The rural sector (farming, fisheries, and forestry) is the second largest contributor to Angola’s GDP at 9.4% (2020). Around 85% of Angolans are employed by the agriculture sector, which is primarily in the form of subsistence farming. The country’s development efforts have been significantly hindered by war, creating a state where a substantial portion of the population is still without adequate access to food, potable water, sanitation, education, healthcare, electricity, and other basic services. Natural hazards in the form of flooding, erosion, droughts, and epidemics impede development as well, and are expected to become worse as the climate changes. Additionally, sea level rise poses a major threat to its coastal population, where it is estimated that 50% of Angolans reside. 

The main climate change forum for Angola is the National Committee on Climate Change and Biodiversity, which was created in 2012 under the Minister of Environment. The Committee has a number of responsibilities that include: harmonizing programs and policies and creating the necessary conditions for the implementation of a National Climate Change Plan. It has also begun to integrate climate change into broad national strategies through a 2013-2017 National Development Plan that was drafted within the framework of the new Constitution of Angola.