Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Lithuania.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Lithuania's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Lithuania's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The territory of the Republic of Lithuania covers 65 302 km2. Lithuania borders with Latvia, Belarus, Poland, Russia and the Baltic Sea. The coastal length of Lithuania makes 90.7 km. Lithuania is the country of lowlands with the highest hills not reaching 300 meters height. Agricultural land covers about 52.4% of the total land area of the country. The Lithuanian woodland occupies about 33.5% of the country’s territory and protected areas – 17.6%. Its population was 2.7 million in 2020. Average density of population in Lithuania is 43.6 persons/km2. The main economic activity in Lithuania is service sector, followed by industry and construction.

Based on the results of previous studies in Lithuania, the Baltic Sea coast region is most vulnerable to climate change. Coast, coastal ecosystems, as well as local population are mostly affected by sea level rise, storm and hurricane winds, sea and Curonian Lagoon water warming and salinity changes.