Trinidad and Tobago

Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Trinidad and Tobago.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Trinidad and Tobago's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Trinidad and Tobago's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago is an archipelagic state in the southern Caribbean, located between 10°N and 11.5°N latitude, and 60°W and 62°W longitude. The country covers an area of 5,131 km2 with the island of Trinidad being the larger and more populous of the two main islands. Tobago is much smaller, comprising about 6 % of the total area and 4% of the population. As a result of their southerly location, Trinidad and Tobago experiences two relatively distinct seasonal climatic types: tropical maritime from January to May with warm days and cool nights with relatively low rainfall. The rainfalls at nights are mainly due to daytime convection; and modified moist equatorial climate between June and December, characterized by hot humid days and nights, low wind speeds and increased rainfall, due to convection and equatorial weather systems (Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Services, 2009). These two climate types result in two distinct seasons, a dry season from January to May and a wet or rainy season from June to December. 

Trinidad and Tobago is the most industrialized economy in the English-speaking Caribbean (Nationally Determined Contribution). It is the leading Caribbean producer of oil and gas, and its economy is mainly based upon these resources contributing to 40% of GDP and 80% of exports. As a Small Island Developing State (SIDS), the country is vulnerable to temperature increases, changes in precipitation and sea level rise. Other vulnerabilities include increased flooding, increased frequency and intensity of hurricanes, hillside erosion and loss of coastal habitats.