Republic of Serbia

Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Republic of Serbia.

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Republic of Serbia's climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications are derived from the Köppen-Geiger climate classification system, which divides climates into five main climate groups divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five main groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter).  Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Republic of Serbia's country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Republic of Serbia is located in the central part of the Balkan Peninsula, covering a total surface area of 88,361 km2. The State borders Hungary to the north, Romania and Bulgaria to the east, Macedonia to the south, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro to the west. According to the 2011 census, Serbia’s population is approximately 7,186,862 inhabitants with a GDP per capita estimated at 4,720 EUR. Serbia has three major geographical areas: the Pannonian Plain; hilly areas with lower mountains; and low-lands and mountainous area. The climate of Serbia is moderate-continental, with more or less pronounced local characteristics and a gradual transition between seasons. Continental climate prevails in the mountainous regions of above 1,000 m altitude. The southwestern part of the country borders Mediterranean, subtropical and continental climate. According to the Koppen climate classification, most of Serbia has a moderately warm rainy climate with warm summers, whilst mountainous have a snowy climate.

The Republic of Serbia has been part of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) since 2001 and the Kyoto Protocol (Protocol) since 2008. The Ministry of Environmental Protection (MoEP) is the national climate change focal point. In June 2015, the Government of the Republic of Serbia submitted its Nationally Determined Contribution which identifies agriculture, hydrology, forestry, human health and biodiversity as its most vulnerable sectors.