Myanmar (Burma)

Explore historical and projected climate data, climate data by sector, impacts, key vulnerabilities and what adaptation measures are being taken. Explore the overview for a general context of how climate change is affecting Myanmar (Burma).

Country Summary

This page presents high-level information for Myanmar (Burma)'s climate zones and its seasonal cycle for mean temperature and precipitation for the latest climatology, 1991-2020. Climate zone classifications in the map below use observed, historical data (sourced from the Climate Research Unit [CRU]) and are derived by applying the Köppen-Geiger climate classification methodology. This classification divides climate into five primary climate groups, which are divided based on seasonal precipitation and temperature patterns. The five primary groups are A (tropical), B (dry), C (temperate), D (continental), and E (polar). All climates, except for those in the E group are assigned a seasonal precipitation sub-group (second letter). It is important to understand the different climate contexts that exist within a country as well as the surrounding region when analyzing current climates and projected change. Climate classifications are identified by hovering your mouse over the legend. A narrative overview of Myanmar (Burma)'s country context and climate is provided following the visualizations.

Köppen-Geiger Climate Classification, 1991-2020
  • Af
  • Am
  • As/Aw
  • BWh
  • BWk
  • BSh
  • BSk
  • Csa
  • Csb
  • Csc
  • Cwa
  • Cwb
  • Cwc
  • Cfa
  • Cfb
  • Cfc
  • Dsa
  • Dsb
  • Dsc
  • Dsd
  • Dwa
  • Dwb
  • Dwc
  • Dwd
  • Dfa
  • Dfb
  • Dfc
  • Dfd
  • ET
  • EF

The Republic of the Union of Myanmar, herein Myanmar, (formally known as Burma) is situated on the western edge of Southeast Asia, located between 9°55‟, 28°15‟ N and 92°10', 101°10' E. It is bordered by the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal (2,330 km), Thailand (2,325 km), Lao People’s Democratic Republic (235 km), China (2,185 km), India (1,454 km), and Bangladesh (258 km). Myanmar is the largest country in Southeast Asia, covering approximately 676,000 km2, extending 800 km east to west and 1,300 km north to south. The country as a whole can be divided into three main ecological zones: i) central dry; ii) coastal; and iii) hilly. Myanmar's population was roughly 57 million in 2020.

In Myanmar, storms, floods and waterlogging are identified as key drivers of poverty, and poverty is highest in rural areas. These factors, combined with Myanmar’s high exposure to hazards such as floods and tropical cyclones make it one of the most vulnerable countries to climate change in the world. Myanmar has ratified the Paris Climate Agreement and published its Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) in 2016. Myanmar’s NDC identifies extreme weather events, sea level rise, flooding, and drought as the most significant threats it faces from climate change. In Myanmar, vulnerability remains high due to rapid rises in exposure as rapid development has taken place in urban areas without sufficient protection to natural hazards through the continued development of the country. Myanmar’s identified agriculture, water resources, public health, forestry, coastal zones, and biodiversity sectors as the most vulnerable sector to climate change.